Dhaka: 4:47 PM, Tue, 19 Jun, 2018

Bangladesh-New Zealand first Test Thursday

Augustin Sujan : risingbd.com
Publish on: 2017-01-11 1:56:01 PM     ||     Updated: 2017-01-11 8:07:32 PM

Sport Desk: Touring Bangladesh will take on hosts New Zealand in the first of a two-match Test series in Wellington Thursday (January 12).


The match will begin at 4.00am (Bangladesh time) at Basin Reserve at a green pitch which will probably help the pacers and become a challenge for batsmen.


Bangladesh's Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim is set to return on field after recovering sufficiently from a hamstring injury.

"I am recovering quite well but I wouldn't say I am 100% fit, because the hamstring [injury] often has a recurrence. But so far, I am fit for the Test match," Bangladesh captain Mushfiqur Rahim said ahead of the Test.


This will be Bangladesh's first overseas Test since September 2014 and the Tigers will rely on senior cricketers like Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan and the captain Mushfiqur Rahim.


Bangladesh will certainly have to face the fast bowling attacks from Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Colin de Grandhomme on a green pitch.


"It's important we go back to the basics after a bit of white-ball cricket. Lot of transition is mentally, although the sides are quite different coming from white ball to red, but is important we make those adjustments early," New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said on their target for this Test series.


Bangladesh pacer Taskin Ahmed is expected to debut, while spinner Mehedi Hasan could be picked ahead of Taijul Islam to make room for another pacer Rubel Hossain. Subashis Roy has also made a case for himself and could be picked ahead of Kamrul Islam Rabbi.


Bangladesh Squad for first Test


Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain and Wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Hoque, Shabbir Rahaman, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Soumya Sarker, Taskin Ahmed, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Shubhasis Roy.


New Zealand Squad for first Test


Kane Williamson (Captain), Trent Boult, Dean Brownlie, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (Wicketkeeper).


With input from espncricinfo


risingbd/DHAKA/11 Jan 2017/Augustin Sujan