Dhaka: 1:14 AM, Wed, 23 May, 2018
BD-NZ first Test

Mominul, Tamim shine in rain-hit day

Augustin Sujan : risingbd.com
Publish on: 2017-01-12 9:34:53 AM     ||     Updated: 2017-01-12 7:57:51 PM

Sport Desk: Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal and middle order batsman Mominul Haque showed admirable batting performances in the first day of the first of a two-match Test series against hosts New Zealand in Wellington that began Thursday.


Only 40.2 overs were played in the first day where rain appeared several times after the Blackcaps won toss and chose to bowl first at a green pitch of Basin Reserve.


Bangladesh were 154/3 at stumps in the first day with Mominul Haque unbeaten on 64 while Shakib Al Hasan on 5.



Earlier, the Tigers started batting in seaming pitch and the Kiwis struck early to dismiss opener Imrul Kayes in the 4th over. Kayes returned for one getting caught by Trent Boult off Southee.


However, another opener Tamim Iqbal was very aggressive and smashed a half-century off only 48 balls. He was LBW by Boult scoring 56 off only 50 balls hitting 11 boundaries. Bangladesh lost second wicket for just 60.


However, from there on, Mominul Haque and Mahmudullah kept batting and added 59 runs more before rain stopped the play with Mominul unbeaten on 48 while Mahmudullah on 13.



The play resumed over three hours later and Mominul smashed his fifty with a four in 32nd over. However, Mahmudullah was caught by Watling behind the wicket off Wagner in the 38th over. He scored 26 and made a 85-run third-wicket partnership with Mominul.


Bangladesh lost their third wicket for 145. Mominul and Shakib Al Hasan survived the rest of the two overs played before bad light forced to call early stumps.


Mominul played 110 balls and smashed 10 fours and one six on his way to 64 not out while Shakib faced 11 balls to score 5 hitting a boundary.


Bangladesh got two debutants in the match as Taskin Ahmed and Subashis Roy came in the XI.

Bangladesh Team

Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Hoque, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain and Wicketkeeper), Shabbir Rahaman, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Shubhasis Roy and Kamrul Islam Rabbi.
New Zealand Team

Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson (Captain), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, BJ Watling (Wicketkeeper), Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Trent Boult.


risingbd/DHAKA/12 Jan 2017/Augustin Sujan