Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Sunday   05 December 2021

First-ever cluster admission test begins today

News Desk || risingbd.com

Published: 11:49, 17 October 2021  
First-ever cluster admission test begins today

File photo

The cluster method admission test for the 20 General and Science and Technology universities is set to begin today, Sunday (October 17) for the first time in the country.

Students with science backgrounds will appear for the test under “A” unit at 12pm today.

The one-hour long entry test is being held at 12 pm today in some 26 centres across the country.

Earlier, some 2,32,455 students had applied for the total 22,013 seats available for three units.

Exams for the humanities (B), and commerce units (C) are scheduled for October 24 and November 1 respectively.

According to the central admission test committee, the tests will be held following the HSC syllabus with a total of 100 MCQs and 0.25 marks will be deducted for each wrong answer.

Admission seekers have been instructed to arrive at their respective centres an hour prior to the start of the test to complete other exam-related formalities.

When contacted, Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) Vice-Chancellor Farid Uddin Ahmed, also the joint convener of the admission test committee, said, “We have taken all-out preparation for holding the test. Hope the test will be held in a fair manner.”

The 20 universities conducting the cluster admission tests are – Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman Science and Technology University, Barisal University, Begum Rokeya University Rangpur, Cumilla University, Hajee Mohammad Danesh Science and Technology University, Islamic University, Jagannath University, Jatiya Kabi Kazi Nazrul Islam University, Jashore University of Science and Technology, Khulna University, Mawlana Bhashani Science and Technology University, Noakhali Science and Technology University, Pabna University of Science and Technology, and Shahjalal University of Science and Technology.

The decision to hold the cluster method admission test was taken in a meeting of university admission committee on September 21.

Earlier the results of the preliminary application for the cluster admission test of the 20 universities were published on August 25.