Dhaka     Saturday   28 November 2020

PM hands over Independence Award-2020

News Desk || risingbd.com

Published: 11:46, 29 October 2020   Update: 12:29, 29 October 2020
PM hands over Independence Award-2020

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina handed over “Swadhinata Purashkar-2020” (Independence Award-2020), the highest national award, to eight distinguished persons including two posthumously and an educational institute.

The award was handed over to the recipients at a ceremony held at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium here in the capital on at 10:30 am on Thursday (Oct 29).

The premier attended the award giving ceremony virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban here.

On behalf of the Prime Minister, Liberation War Affairs Minister AKM Mozammel Haque handed over the Independence Award-2020 to the recipients in recognition of their glorious and outstanding contribution to their respective fields.

Cabinet Secretary Khandker Anwarul Islam moderated the function and read out the citations with brief life sketch of the recipients.

The recipients include Jute and Textiles Minister Golam Dastagir Gazi, MP, and Azizur Rahman for Independence and Liberation War, one of the key Liberation War organisers Commander Abdur Rouf (posthumous), martyred intellectual Md Anwar Pasha (posthumous), Professor Dr Md Obaidul Kabir Chowdhury and Prof Dr AKMA Muktadir for medical science, Kalipada Das and actress Ferdousi Mazumdar for culture and Bharateswari Homes, a boarding school for girls in Tangail, for education.

Each award recipient was awarded with a gold medal weighing 50 grams of gold of 18 karat, a certificate and Tk 500,000.

Since 1977, Bangladesh has honoured individuals and institutions with the award every year ahead of Independence Day on March 26.


Warning: mysqli_close(): Couldn't fetch mysqli in /var/www/risingbd.com/english/details.php on line 495