Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Friday   03 February 2023

Bangladesh seal ODI series against India for 2nd time

News Desk || risingbd.com

Published: 20:43, 7 December 2022   Update: 22:03, 7 December 2022
Bangladesh seal ODI series against India for 2nd time

Bangladesh sealed three-match ODI series against India with a game to spare as Tigers beat the visitors by five runs in their second match at Mirpur’s Sher-e-Bangla national cricket stadium on Wednesday (December 7).

With this, Bangladesh repeated the history from seven years ago when they won the three-match home ODI series 2-1 after confirming the series in the second game in Mirpur.

The hosts, thanks to Mehidy Hasan Miraz’s maiden century, scored 271 runs by losing seven wickets in 50 overs.

In Chase, India managed to score 266 runs by losing nine wickets.

Shreyas Iyer smashed an innings of 82 runs off 102 balls while Axar Patel posted 56 runs from 56 balls. Skipper Rohit Sharma hit 51 runs off 28 balls with three boundaries and five over-boundaries.

For Bangladesh, Mehidy Hasan Miraz hit an unbeaten century off 83 balls as Tigers finished at 271 for 7.

In his brilliant 100-run innings, Miraz smashed eight boundaries and four over-boundaries.

Mahmudullah Riyad registered 77 runs from 96 balls with seven boundaries.

Tigers lost three of their top order batsmen as skipper Liton Das (7), Anamul Haque Bijoy (11) and Nazmul Hossian Shanto (21) all went back to pavilion within 15 overs.

Najmul Hossain Shanto scored 21 runs while Nasum Ahmed (unbeaten) bagged 18 runs. Mushfiqur Rahim scored 12 runs and Anamul Haque bagged 11 runs.

Mentionable, BThe Tigers won the first ODI in thrilling fashion as Mehedi Hasan Miraz and Mustafizur Rahman formed an unbroken 51-run last wicket stand to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat.