Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Saturday   22 June 2024

2nd phase upazila polls: Voting ends, counting underway

Desk Report || risingbd.com

Published: 23:08, 21 May 2024   Update: 08:30, 22 May 2024
2nd phase upazila polls: Voting ends, counting underway

The second phase of the sixth Upazila Parishad elections ended in 156 Upazilas. Counting began after polls closed.

Earlier, the voting began at 8am on Tuesday for the posts of chairman, vice chairman and woman vice chairman in the local government polls and drew to a close at 4pm.

Unofficial results of several districts are already announced.

In Rangamati, Chairman candidate Nasir Uddin has been declared winner in Kaptai upazila parisha election. He got 7,362 votes while nearest candidate got 7,075 votes.

In Rajshahi’s Puthia, Durgapur and Baghmara upazila, Abdus Samad Mollah, Jakirul Islam Santu, and Sharifuzzaman won respectively.

In Cox’s Bazar’s Chakaria upazila, Fazlul Karim Saidee has been declared winner unofficially. He bagged 56,122 votes. Shafayet Aziz Razu won from Pekua upazila. He got 23, 293 votes. Upazila Awami League president Abu Taleb won in Eidgaon upazila. He got 16,856 votes.

S B/Nasim