Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Saturday   20 April 2024

Sri Lanka announce squad for Bangladesh series 

|| risingbd.com

Published: 20:41, 28 February 2024  
Sri Lanka announce squad for Bangladesh series 

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has announced a 17-member squad for Sri Lanka’s upcoming T20 series against Bangladesh.

Accordingly, the following squad, scheduled to leave for Bangladesh on Wednesday (29 Feb), was approved by Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Harin Fernando.

The SLC further announced that Charith Asalanka will serve as the ‘Acting Captain’ for the first two games of the three-match series, adding that although Pathum Nissanka was initially drafted in the original squad, he will not be travelling for the tour as he is still recovering from an injury sustained during Afghanistan’s Tour of Sri Lanka.

The all-format series against Bangladesh will get underway on 04 March, starting off with a three-match T20 series, followed by a three-match ODI series and two Test matches.

Asalanka will be serving as the ‘Acting Captain’ for the first two games in light of Wanindu Hasaranga’s recent suspension for breaching the International Cricket Council’s (ICC) code of conduct during the third T20 against Afghanistan.

Hasaranga was presented with a two-match suspension, a 50% fine and three demerit points after he was found guilty of  breaching article 2.13 of the ICC Code of Conduct for Players and Player Support Personnel, which relates to “Personal abuse of a Player, Player Support Personnel, Umpire or Match Referee during an International Match. 

01. Wanindu Hasaranga - Captain 
02. Charith Asalanka - Vice Captain 
03. Kusal Mendis 
04. Sadeera Samarawickrama 
05. Angelo Mathews 
06. Dasun Shanaka 
07. Maheesh Theekshana 
08. Dhananjaya de Silva 
09. Kusal Janith Perera 
10. Dilshan Madushanka 
11. Nuwan Thushara 
12. Matheesha Pathirana 
13. Akila Dananjaya 
14. Binura Fernando 
15. Kamindu Mendis 
16. Avishka Fernando – comes in place of Pathum Nissanka. 
17. Jeffrey Vandersay