Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Tuesday   28 May 2024

Bangladesh earns direct qualification for T20 World Cup 2024

News Desk || risingbd.com

Published: 21:39, 6 November 2022  
Bangladesh earns direct qualification for T20 World Cup 2024

With the conclusion of the Super 12 stage of the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia, the list of the top ten teams, who will directly qualify for the 2024 T20 World Cup main stage has been confirmed. Unlike this year’s edition, the next World Cup hosted in the USA and the West Indies will have a total of 20 teams.

These 20 qualified teams will be placed into four groups of five. The top two teams in each group advance to the Super 8 round. In this stage, the remaining teams will be further divided into two groups of four; the top two teams from each group will qualify for the knockout stage, which will consist of two semi-finals and a final.

So for the 2024 T20 World Cup, India, England, New Zealand, Pakistan, Australia, South Africa, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, Netherlands and Bangladesh have received direct qualification. Whereas the host nations, West Indies and the USA will round off the top ten for the 2024 T20 World Cup.

This list includes the top eight teams from this World Cup and the two unqualified teams (Afghanistan and Bangladesh) with the highest rankings. The eight remaining places will be decided by the ICC's regional qualifiers, which include the top two teams from Africa, Asia, and Europe.

This will include one team each from the Americas and the East Asia-Pacific groups. In May 2022, the ICC confirmed the sub-regional qualification pathways for Europe, East Asia-Pacific, and Africa.