Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Wednesday   07 June 2023

Bangladesh clinch T20 series beating Ireland by 77 runs

Desk Report || risingbd.com

Published: 19:00, 29 March 2023   Update: 19:06, 29 March 2023
Bangladesh clinch T20 series beating Ireland by 77 runs

Bangladesh beat Ireland by 77 runs thanks to Shakib Al Hasan's fifer after a fantastic batting effort to win the T20 series at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on Wednesday.

Brief score: 
Bangladesh: 202-3 (17 Ov)
Ireland: 125-9 (17 Ov)

Litton Kumar Das finished his fastest half-century from only 18 balls and has broken the record of Mohammad Ashraful who had hit fifty off 20 balls against West Indies in 2007.  He scored 83 runs off 41 balls before dismissed by Ben White. He hit 10 boundaries and three over-boundaries.

Rony Talukdar posted 44 runs from 23 balls with three boundaries and two over-boundaries. Besides, Towhid Hridoy smashed 24 runs from 13 balls with three boundaries and one over-boundary.

Meanwhile, Shakib Al Hasan has reached a new milestone as he became the highest wicket-taker in T20Is during the second T20I against Ireland. The all-rounder took five wickets while Taskin Ahmed took three.

Earlier, Ireland won the toss and opt to bowl first.

Bangladesh squad: Litton Das (wk), Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan (capt), Towhid Hridoy, Shamim Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman.

Ireland squad: Paul Stirling (capt), Ross Adair, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Campher, George Dockrell, Gareth Delany, Mark Adair, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Ben White.