Risingbd Online Bangla News Portal

Dhaka     Saturday   17 April 2021

Voting starts in 29 municipalities, 4 upazilas

News Desk || risingbd.com

Published: 08:37, 28 February 2021   Update: 09:00, 28 February 2021
Voting starts in 29 municipalities, 4 upazilas

The voting has started in 29 municipalities and 4 upazilas of the 5th phase across the country.

The voting started 8:00 am and continue till 4:00 pm without any break.

EC secretary M Humayun Kabir Khandaker said that all preparations have been made by the Election Commission (EC) to hold the election in fair manner.

He said, “We hope a free and fair environment has been created. We talked to the returning officers. They said the situation was good. Since we are holding the voting through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) in all the municipalities this time. There is no issue of snatching ballot papers.”

The 29 municipalities are: Keshabpur of Jashore, Kaliganj and Maheshpur of Jhenidah, Mirsarai, Bariyarhat and Rangunia of Chattogram, Bhairab of Kishoreganj, Sadar, Madarganj and Islampur of Jamalpur, Nandail of Mymensingh, Singair of Manikganj, Kaliganj of Gazipur, Haragachh of Rangpur, Durgapur and Charghat of Rajshahi, Nachol of Chapainawabganj, Sadar of Bogura, Sadar of Joypurhat, Sadar and Shibchar of Madaripur, Sadar and Charfashion of Bhola, Sadar of Habiganj, Shahrasti and Matlab of Chandpur, Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Raipur of Lakshmipur and Syedpur of Rangpur.

Besides, by-elections are being held for the posts of chairman of four upazila parishads. The upazilas are: Shoilkupa of Jhenidah, Madhukhali of Faridpur, Paba of Rajshahi and Debidwar of Cumilla.